Thursday, 17 January 2013

Henshaw named in Ireland training squad

Athlone's Robbie Henshaw has been named in the Irish training squad for the upcoming Wolfhounds game and the opening game of the 6 Nations Championship against Wales.

The Buccaneers clubman and former Connacht Schools winning captain with the Marist has had an incredible rise up the ranks in the past 12 months and has been an ever present for Connacht this year

He'll be hoping to secure a place on the Wolfhounds team to play England Saxons in Galway at the end of the month

Robbie is one of six uncapped players in the squad with the others Paddy Jackson, Dave McSharry, Lewis Stevenson, Paul Marshall and Ian Madigan

Head coach Declan Kidney says he's looking forward to casting his eye over the uncapped players in the coming weeks

Munster Assistant Coach Anthony Foley and Leinster Rugby's Greg Feek will be part of that coaching team for the Wolfhounds game and will continue to work with the Ireland squad throughout the RBS 6 Nations Championship.

Ireland Squad (club/province/international caps):

Michael Bent (Unattached/Leinster/2)
Rory Best (Banbridge/Ulster/62)
Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster/15)
Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster/3)

Tom Court (Malone/Ulster/29)
Sean Cronin (St. Mary's College/Leinster/23)
Gordon D'Arcy (Lansdowne/Leinster/71)
Keith Earls (Thomond/Munster/34)

Luke Fitzgerald (Blackrock College/Leinster/23)
Declan Fitzpatrick (Dungannon /Ulster/2)
Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster/1)
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster/35)
Jamie Heaslip (Dublin University/Leinster/52) Captain
Iain Henderson (Queens University/Ulster/2)
Chris Henry (Malone/Ulster/4)
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)*
Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)*
Rob Kearney (UCD/Leinster/41)
David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster/2)
Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)*
Paul Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster/)*
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster/14)
Mike McCarthy (Buccaneers/Connacht/6)
Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster/16)
Dave McSharry (Galwegians/Connacht/)*
Sean O'Brien (Clontarf/Leinster/22)
Donncha O'Callaghan (Cork Constitution/Munster/91)
Brian O'Driscoll (UCD/Leinster/120)
Ronan O'Gara (Cork Constitution/Munster/126)
Peter O'Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster/9)
Eoin Reddan (Lansdowne/Leinster/47)
Mike Ross (Clontarf/Leinster/24)
Donnacha Ryan (Shannon/Munster/23)
Jonathan Sexton (St.Mary's College/Leinster/34)
Lewis Stevenson (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster/)*
Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster/2)
Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster/3)
Andrew Trimble (Ballymena/Ulster/49)
Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster/3)

N.B. *denotes uncapped player

Not available due to injury:

Tommy Bowe (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster/51)
Stephen Ferris (Dungannon/Ulster/35)
Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)
John Muldoon (Galwegians/Connacht/3)
Paul O'Connell (Young Munster/Munster/85)
Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster/5)


Post a Comment