Saturday, 26 January 2013

All-Ireland Hurling Championship proposals

For Congress 2013 - Liam Mac Carthy Cup 2014 - 15 Teams

Munster Championship – as is currently; 5 counties
Cork, Tipperary, Limerick, Waterford, Clare
One quarter final, two semi-finals, Munster Final

Leinster Championship – 10 Counties
Laois, Antrim, Carlow, Westmeath, London in a “qualifying” group
·        Played on a round robin basis
·        Each team plays four games
·        Top two teams qualify for Leinster Quarter Finals
·        4th placed team plays Christy Ring Winners in promotion/relegation play-off
·        Bottom placed team automatically relegated to Christy Ring Cup

Leinster Quarter Finals (x3) – 4 from Kilkenny, Galway, Offaly, Wexford, Dublin, + 2 from qualifying group

2 x semi-finals (Leinster Champions Bye to semi-final)

Leinster Final

Qualifiers and All Ireland Series

Rd 1: 5 Leinster, 3 Munster Teams (that don’t qualify for Provincial final) - 4 Fixtures
(Seeded draw: Bowl 1 – 3 x Leinster + 1 x Leinster Qualifier (or team beaten by them in Leinster Quarter or Semi Final)                 Vs             Bowl 2 – 3 x Munster + 1 Leinster Qualifier or team beaten by them in Leinster Quarter or Semi-Final)

Rd 2: 4 winners from Round 1 – 2 fixtures

Quarter Finals: Beaten Prov finalists v Rd 2 Winners (as currently)

Semi-Finals: as currently.

All Ireland Final

Promotion/Relegation Play-off – Ring Cup Winners v 4th place Leinster “Group” team


Post a Comment