Monday, 10 December 2012

Camelot is horse of the year

Camelot has been crowned Racehorse Of The Year at the 10th annual Horse Racing Ireland Awards, having won the Epsom Derby as well as the Irish Derby and the Qipco 2,000 Guineas at Newmarket in 2012.

It was a fantastic day for Camelot’s rider Joseph O’Brien too as he picked up the Flat award.

The National Hunt equivalent went to Cork jockey Davy Russell who was crowned Irish Champion Jockey for the first time last April.

Flemenstar is the horse on everybody’s lips at present and his colourful trainer Peter Casey scooped the Outstanding Achievement award.

There was a new award introduced this year, the Racecourse Of The Year, and that was given to Mayo track Ballinrobe which has carried out tremendous work over the last decade.

The Contribution to the Industry award was given to Moyglare Stud who celebrated their 50th anniversary this year.

Derek O’Connor’s domination of the Point To Point award came to an end as Colman Sweeney, who partnered Salsify to victory in the Foxhunters at Cheltenham, picked up the gong.


Post a Comment